There..did you see it up there? That big ol’ word just sort of sitting there? W R I T E.

This is the year I quit being flaky about writing;  I stop breathing excuses (need to home school out of milk- laundry pile is looming-didn’t get any sleep last night) and I write.

To cement this decision I dragged encouraged my husband and daughter to drive with me for an hour and a half down a wet and snowy freeway to my first meeting of the Northwest Christian Writers Association (nwcw.org) last night. It was inspirational. It was practical. It was packed with people…and there was food!

I don’t know why it is so scary to step over the line and join in with other writers. I’ve been published. I’ve written a column for a glossy magazine. I’ve gotten acceptance letters. I’ve even been paid to write (we won’t discuss the amount here but payment of any kind counts, doesn’t it?).

I am experiencing what I recently heard referred to as threshold fear. I am making a commitment for all the world to see.  It’s challenging…mostly because I know how many times I have grown discouraged and quit halfway through. So, here I am, stepping across the threshold (ducking my head a bit because the ceiling is low) and I  am going in!

WRITE