I know, I know the name doesn’t really make sense but apparently it did to the man who started this International speakers club many years ago.

Joining a Toastmasters club can be a really wonderful way to learn how to speak in public but Toastmasters is not just about learning how to speak; members also learn how to introduce a speaker,  to speak at the spur of the moment on any topic, to evaluate other speakers and how to lead a meeting.

My husband and I joined a Toastmasters club in Idaho after realizing how much we missed speaking together like we used to when we were in missionary work. We made a weekly Toastmasters meeting our date night and were challenged and encouraged and evaluated by fellow members in a very positive environment. As a matter of fact, I have often thought they were too encouraging when we needed a little more critiquing. Nevertheless, we learned a lot in that Toastmasters club, especially from a darling Irish woman who had a wonderful way with words and took it on herself to mentor me. She was a blessing.

It’s been a few years since we have been in a Toastmasters group and so when I heard recently that a brand new club was being chartered in our new home town I jumped in with both feet and much enthusiasm. Our new club is very goal oriented and our club President is full of enthusiasm. I am moving very quickly toward earning my second award in Toastmasters; the Competent Leader award.

Preparing a speech for Toastmasters is a bit like having homework that I really don’t want to do.  At first I dread it, then, I  finally do it and then… I feel really good about myself!  I’ve experienced the same thing with preparing a Toastmasters speech. It is good for me to commit to giving a speech so that I will have the discipline to do it…which is a goal of mine this year; to speak and write more.

Anyone can join a Toastmasters club…why don’t you see if there is one near you? Find out here.