I am preparing one of my favorite talks for a homeschooling workshop; Keep the Home in Homeschooling. I developed this workshop after seeing two of our children grow to adulthood and realizing that the really important parts of our homeschooling day were not found in our curriculum or “lessons”. Of course, most homeschoolers believe this to be true but still battle that niggling worry about doing “enough” “real” school.

Well, I battle that worry as much as anyone and that’s why I wanted to speak about ways to keep the HOME in homeschooling. I don’t know about you but I don’t want my children to grow up and look back on their childhood and say, “Wow, mom, that curriculum you picked gave me so many happy childhood moments!”

So I began to think about all the other ways that we spend our time and the blessings we have reaped because of them;

We spend time thinking. Our children need to have silence and listen to the wind blow. They need to know themselves.

We spend time getting side tracked and absorbed in activities and projects that fascinate us.

We spend time talking and arguing and making up.

We spend time eating. Our family spends a great deal of time cooking and it has become a very important part of our life.

The girls and I throw parties. One daughter in particular is especially good at these details and is starting a party business.

We serve.

We “”make” a home which means we do a lot of cooking, organizing, cleaning , learning.

We are able to invite people over because we have prepared our home to welcome guests.

We sing together.

We watch dad do dad stuff; like design work on the computer.

The kids see what grown ups do by being around them.

And that’s a little bit of what I have learned as a homeschooling mother.