This may seem like a strange post to add to my blog aimed at conservative Christian woman but I thought it might help someone who is observing and wondering about certain “developments” within Christendom.

An article called Hipster Faith by Brett McCracken caught my eye and as I read it I was slam-dunked by a host of memories. You can read the article here.

The article describes Christian hipsters who say they reject the traditional fuddy duddy evangelicalism that they grew up with and are, instead, embracing a lifestyle and church community that is more like the way secular hipsters live. You have to read the article to get the full focus and feel of what is happening among these young people.

When I say I was slam-dunked by a host of memories, I was taken back to my childhood among the hippies in New Mexico and the kind of anger that generation had toward anyone who had lived before them. They threw out anything that was from the “establishment” and embraced everything “new”…only sin isn’t new and never has been.

It was this experience that first caused me to begin thinking about living generationally because, as the little sister of hippies, I was profoundly and deeply influenced and affected by what I witnessed in the generation just ahead of me (and not in a good way).

Here is the letter I would have written to the editor if I had read the article in a timely manner (and not months after it came out).

As an “older” Christian I read with interest the hard-hitting article in Christianity Today. I found it interesting and a bit humorous that Brett McCracken describes how Christian hipsters are quick to toss out traditional expressions of faith and relate more to secular hipsters than with those”traditional” evangelical fuddy-duddy folks.

I bit back a laugh as I read this because there really is nothing new under the sun (as it says in the book of Ecclesiastes). Do Christian hipsters really delude themselves into thinking that their faith is on the cutting edge in Christianity?

I grew up during the 1960’s and 1970’s in a hippie town in New Mexico as the little sister of a couple of hippies and I witnessed first-hand a generation who rebelled against what the previous generation had taught, believed or said. The results in my brothers and sister’s generation were very sad. Many of those beautiful teens did not make it to adulthood and those who did struggled with addictions, sexually transmitted diseases and depression for the rest of their lives.

Gee…I don’t know…maybe it’s just me but the Bible does seem to say a lot about becoming wise(the entire book of Proverbs, for example). Some questions for you, “Do you Christian hipsters really want to dump out the wisdom of those older evangelicals just because they don’t look and talk the way you think they should?” and “Have you considered that there are some really incredible older believers who could benefit from your youth and passion and pass on such creaky artifacts as knowledge,experience and (!!) passion for Jesus to you?”

Christians get themselves into deep water when they fail to remember that they are sinners with a propensity to ……uh…sin. Blurring the lines about what is sin and what is not does not take away the temptation to become mired in a lifestyle that reeks of…sin. Oh, and let’s not delude ourselves that Christians haven’t been involved in defending the poor and downtrodden since the dawn of the faith. Study history and get a clue.

There is much that needs to change in the Megachurch touchy-feely evangelicalism in the Western world today but Christian hipsters shouldn’t delude themselves that reactionary churches are the way to develop a solid faith which will help them persevere throughout a lifetime of living.

Christian hipsters is “What are you passing on to the next generation? Is it worthwhile. Will it last?” I hope so.

The Lord Jesus Christ who redeemed this sad, suicidal sinner in a college dormroom over 33 years ago is still working. Get busy worshipping and serving Him and don’t get sidetracked into being cutting edge cool(the hippies were way cooler man!).

Sincerely, Jill Farris