And Now We are Six by A.A. Milne

When I was One,

I had just begun.

When I was Two,

I was nearly new.

When I was Three

I was hardly me.

When I was Four,

I was not much more.

When I was Five,

I was just alive.

But now I am Six,

I’m as clever as clever,

So I think I’ll be six now for ever and ever.

The youngest of our eight children turned six this week.

He woke up on his birthday and told me matter-of-factly that his clothes would be too small for him today :).  My heart did a little flutter when he said that because I know my days of enjoying his small boy innocence are numbered. Oh, I know(Lord willing) I have many years left of enjoying this son of ours but that little boy specialness will not last forever.

He is the child of our old age.

Patrick McIver Farris entered the world twenty years after our first born. When he was two and a half months old his proud daddy and mommy celebrated their 45th and 49th birthdays. What a gift of joy he has been.

When Patrick was a toddler in diapers he would stand on the front porch and wave at the neighbors and call them by name in his friendly little voice, “Hi Mr. Johnstone!”

My husband and I smile and remind each other that we need to keep our energy up because wherever this boy goes it’s a party! Introvert is not a word in Patrick’s dictionary!

He has a special love for his big sister Hannah who was eleven when he was born. When Patrick was about two I was talking to Hannah about trusting the Lord even when we have a tendency to worry about the future. I asked Hannah if she ever worried about “what if’s” and Hannah replied, “I don’t really worry about anything except if anything would happen to my Patrick.”

She loves him.

The whole family adores this ever smiling optimist who entered our world on a May day six years ago.  It would be very easy to spoil this boy but he is so interested in others that we haven’t ruined him;). When he heard that his neighbor friend had a new baby brother he came home and told us, “Now I have a new friend!

What a delightful little human being he is. He is just what this family needed to lighten us up and remind us to think the best of others.

And so, today our house is reverberating with the happy sounds of a birthday party…and I thank God He gave us a reason to celebrate!