Laundry is a fact of life. Depending on the size of your laundry pile, you could be spending an unnecessary amount of money on detergent to wash clothes.

Several years ago I made the Duggar’s laundry detergent recipe from their website. It is a gel recipe so it looked and felt like the kind of gel soap I buy but I wasn’t terribly impressed by how it cleaned my clothes. It also took that little bit of extra time to make and then I had to pour the whole gloppy mess into an appropriate container…just enough trouble for lazy me to avoid making my own soap!

Recently, because I was giving a talk on frugality and needed a hands-on example to take to class, I did another search for homemade laundry soap and found this recipe. It is so simple yet it gets our clothes cleaner. My husband even noticed the difference.

Frugal Friday tip; always ask yourself the question, “Is there an easier and less expensive way to do this?” and you will probably discover that other people have asked the same question and found the answer! This certainly is true when it comes to saving money on cleaning products.

# 1 Cup Grated Soap (Fels Naptha is an excellent, old fashioned soap that many grocery stores carry in the laundry section). Ivory soap also works.
# 1/2 Cup Washing Soda (NOT baking soda)
# 1/2 Cup Borax

Grate the soap (you can use a food processor if you like), mix the soda and Borax together with the soap and pour into a plastic container with a lid.

To wash clothes, use 2 tablespoons per load. The soap does not get sudsy but it does clean your clothes!
This recipe costs pennies per load and is biodegradable.

It may not help you actually conquer the laundry pile but at least you know you’re not spending all your hard-earned money while you’re trying to do it!