Oh Lord, Hear My Cry by is a devotional e-book on the Psalms. The author, Zari Banks, introduces the book to her readers by sharing some of the deep trials she experienced. After struggling to trust God in those trials she turned to the Psalms in her sorrow.
This e-book uses a very simple approach to the Psalms; daily scriptures and a prayer for thirty days. There are no illustrations or graphics in this book but there are encouraging words and Psalms from scripture. Although this book does need more visual appeal and should be professionally formatted, any reader would be blessed to read through this simple devotional every day of the month.

To be entered to win this e-devotional, please leave a comment sharing your favorite Psalm or scripture verse in the comment section. I will pick a winner on March 31st!

I had the privilege of interviewing author Zari Banks. Join me as I “pick her brain” about writing!

Welcome to Generational Womanhood Zari! Thank you for taking the time and allowing us to get to know you!

1. Please share with us a little bit about yourself and what a typical day looks like in your life.

I’m a mom, a teacher, an eater, a writer, an editor, business owner. I’m a life-long learner. I love to read and spend time with my family and friends and I love the Lord. A typical day for me is busy. I operate my family’s insurance office, blog and edit books, do the marketing and accounting for this office and our bakery as well as get in some fun.

2. Have you always wanted to write? What is your motivation for writing?

I have always wanted to be a writer. Matter of fact, when I was seven, I declared my future would be thus: Undergrad, then law school, practice law and make tons of money, retire and become a teacher and then retire from that and become a writer. My motivation for writing is the same as that of breathing – It’s necessary for life.

3. Tell us why you chose to write this book? Aren’t there enough books out there on Proverbs and Psalms? What is unique about your book?

I didn’t choose to write these books per se. I never imagined myself writing non-fiction work, and that’s all I write as a published writer. The prayers prayed were my simply my prayers recorded in my journal at the time when I was in a pit of despair and was acting in obedience to the Lord to get into the Bible to find my rescue.
My books are unique in that they weren’t written to be published for anyone. The prayers would’ve been prayed and recorded regardless because I pray and write my prayers in my journal all the time, I have for years. I shared these prayers in a group with others who were also struggling with various things. I was told the prayers were encouraging and uplifting. They were asking me to pray them repeatedly and continue sharing prayers with them, so, in giving thanks to the Lord in prayer for using me to encourage others (even while I was hurting) the Lord said to me, “I can use those to help more.”

So, I consulted with my mentor and published them. Even now, I get emails from folks telling me those prayers are blessing them. God proved faithful. He’s using those prayers to help more people.

4. For the typical Christian woman who feels overburdened by her responsibilities and feels as if she is “failing” the Lord Jesus, what words of encouragement can you offer her?

There is no such thing as failing the Lord Jesus as long as you believe in Him. If you believe in Him – if you have faith – you’re pleasing Him. With your faith in God, the One True God, you cannot go wrong. Any time we act in faith He’ll show up and do exceedingly abundantly above what you think is possible. I would also go a little further and say that it’s a lie and typical strategy of the enemy to make you think you’re failing God. We’re not worth a whole lot separate from Christ, anyway, so when we have the Holy Spirit in us we can view hiccups as they really are, confess if necessary, receive forgiveness and move forward in victory.

5. Any practical tips for other women who feel called to write? What about for those who are seeking to be published?

Anyone who feels called to write should write. God knows how important reading and writing are … He left us an 800,000-word text. Write. For those seeking publication, there are several avenues to make that happen. Commit your way to the Lord and He’ll make the work of your hands successful.

6.Thank you so much for visiting with us today. May the Lord bless you and strengthen you as you share His word with His people.

Thank YOU! This is truly and honor for me, and I receive that blessing in Jesus’ Name. Thank you.

To contact Zari Banks: http://www.twitter.com/MizBanks
http://www.facebook.com/MizBanks or http://zwriteswords.weebly.com