Tags

, ,

Palm Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s triumphal entry into Jerusalem, as foretold by the prophet Zechariah.

The Bible tells us people cut branches from palm trees, laid them across Jesus’ path and waved them in the air. They greeted Jesus not as the spiritual Messiah who would take away the sins of the world, but as a potential political leader who would overthrow the Romans. Their shout “Hosanna” meant “save now.”

In ancient times, palm branches symbolized goodness and victory. They were often depicted on coins and important buildings. Solomon had palm branches carved into the walls and doors of the temple (1 Kings 6:29).

Palm Sunday is celebrated on April 1st this year. It is the beginning of Holy Week when we remember the Lord Jesus Christ and his last days before he was tortured on the cross, died and rose again to save us from our sins.

Does the crucifixation of Jesus mean anything to you? I am reminded this year that over 30 years ago, God drew me to Himself. I realized I was a sinner in desperate need of a savior and asked God to save me from my sins.I not only needed saving from my sins, but I also needed to experience His peace so that I could practice living.

Moment by moment God has led me, taught me, and guided me through the valleys and mountains of a sad and sorrowful world. This Easter, I give thanks from the bottom of my heart that He died for me. He has died for you as well.

Has the Lord Jesus redeemed, restored and blessed you? Please share with us how He has worked in your life.

The biblical account of Palm Sunday can be found in Matthew 21:1-11; Mark 11:1-11; Luke 19:28-44; and John 12:12-19.