Tags

, ,

Lord, I pray for my marriage, today. I pray that the marriage covenant I made with my husband would endure. Help me to persevere in my commitment, not only to my husband, but also to our marriage.

Bless our commitment to marriage, Lord. We live in a world that does not believe in lifelong commitments. We live in a world that scoffs at promises, in part, because those who call themselves Christians have not remained married after pledging their commitment to one another. I do not want our marriage to be one of those statistics.

Give me wisdom as I approach the hard task of marriage building. Help me to understand that a “good” marriage cannot come from my effort, alone. Remind us that divorce does not solve any problems at all but destroys families for generations.Give us a holy hatred for anything that would destroy our marriage.

Give my husband Your vision for what a covenant means. Give him a sense of pride and honor in keeping his promises. Mold the two of us into Your image through our marriage. When there seems to be no good reason to stay married, remind us that we should stick with it because we promised.
Thank You for being a covenant keeping God through all the generations. May our marriage be one small but strong example of who You are.

In the name of Jesus we pray,
Amen

“A married person does not live in isolation. He or she has made a promise, a pledge, a vow, to another person. Until that vow is fulfilled and the promise is kept, the individual is in debt to his marriage partner. That is what he owes. “You owe it to yourself” is not a valid excuse for breaking a marriage vow but a creed of selfishness.” ~ R.C. Sproul

For a long article full of Christian wisdom from a woman who teaches what is good (according to Titus 2) please visit Lady Lydia’s blog and read what she says about marriage.

I will be hosting a giveaway of a wonderful husband-honoring t-shirt from Union 28(listed in the side bar) which begins on the last Monday in April! Be sure to check back here to enter the giveaway and be prepared to share what you appreciate about your hubby!