Tags

, , ,


We are welcoming back my friend Deb(we never seem to have enough time to chat with our girlfriends, do we?). Let’s pour some more tea and continue the conversation…

How about the woman who feels like she has no worth as a woman in the home? She wonders if she got a job if it would help her feel more valued?

Again, our value should not be based on what we do, the positions we hold or what size we wear. Frankly, we’ll never be content or satisfied seeking our value in external things, things that change or are temporary.
We need to find our value in how God sees us; precious treasures, carefully and lovingly designed for a purpose, a purpose to be discovered in relationship with God.

For a season, many of us may feel “stuck” at home, doing the hard work of raising our children. We may feel unappreciated. Rather than looking for a job outside the family, and perhaps neglecting the family in the process, find a group of women in a similar situation and connect with them. Bible study, play groups or prayer times. No one can replace you in your family. You are Essential Personnel
!
When my children were young, I hibernated; it was too hard to get out of the house. Big mistake. I needed to hear from others how they were doing this “Mom Thing.”I started with a women’s Bible study that had a childcare/Bible program at the same time. Rather than looking for someone to meet my needs, I asked God to provide someone whose needs could meet. Along the way, I found value and appreciation in doing the Lord’s work in other women’s lives.
That was eight years ago and I haven’t stopped yet! Look for a place where you can serve and watch the Lord work in and through you.

Do you have a favorite home organization tip you could share with us?
I was shocked to realize how much paperwork toddlers generate! How can these little ones who cannot read or write collect so much paper? They come home from preschool or Sunday School hands filled with paper projects. I thought I was going to be buried alive! It just got worse when they entered elementary school. All of the sudden the paper had purpose (sometimes it even had to be returned).
I sat down with my children one day and we decorated “In boxes” (cardboard magazine holders with their names and favorite themes). I even have a Mom “In box.”

When the kids get home they unpack their backpacks and deposit things that need my attention in Mom’s “In box.”During the evening I review what is to my attention. The next morning, they grab everything out of their “In box,” pack it up and carry it off to school.

Any favorite authors, websites, resources?

Authors: Tim Keller, Renee Swope, Ann Voskamp, Beth Moore
Websites: Proverbs 31 Ministries is a great resource for women in all stages and ages.
National Center for Biblical Parenting has wonderful resources for raising children with the right heart attitude. And, of course, Generational Womanhood!

Thank you for sharing, Deb! May the Lord bless you and keep you and make His face shine upon you and give you peace. May He raise up your family to be a mighty nation for Him!

Thank you, Jill, for allowing me to share my thoughts and experiences with you. I pray the Lord uses these words to provide encouragement to your readers. May He bless you and your family in all your endeavors!