Tags

, , ,


Growing Great Kids Partner with God to Cultivate His Purpose in Your Child’s Life by Kate Battistelli was a delightful surprise.

Written by the mother of Dove Award winning (and Grammy nominated) recording artist Francesa Battistelli this book is more than an inspirational bit of fluff from the mother of a famous singer. Instead, Kate shares the power-packed Biblical principles she and her husband Mike used as they raised their daughter.

Kate writes with clarity, passion and vision. She has sought God for wisdom, listened to Godly counsel, read widely and has prayerfully joined with her husband as they raised their only child.

Kate is a visionary who is passionate about inspiring other parents in their crucial role.

Chapters cover such topics as; Gifts and Callings, The Power of a Parents Words (this chapter is worth the price of the book), Pursuing Purity in Heart and Mind, Prayer-The Essential Ingredient and many others.

Kate says in the intro, “Parents, we have the divine gift and precious responsibility of mining and nurturing every bit of potential we recognize in our children. To a large degree, our children’s success or failure depends on how we raise them…”

Yes, this book is written by a visionary but a godly visionary who, along with her husband, made the tough decisions necessary to do what is best as a family. They carefully considered and prayed about the influences on their daughter’s life and made the necessary adjustments.

As the mother of eight children, I especially appreciated the author’s constant focus on the power of words throughout her book. We must decide if we are going to be life-giving with our tongue!

Lest you think Kate is your typical helicopter mom who pushed her child into performance and music, Kate writes candidly about the danger of living our dreams through our children and the importance of correctly defining “success”.

Although I am not a big fan of discussion questions at the end of book chapters, I enjoyed the ones included here. Thought provoking questions such as; How are you stewarding the gifts and talents residing in your child? Are you honoring your commitments? Do you require your child to honor theirs?

Each chapter also includes a beautiful prayer so that parents can intercede for their children.
Reading this book has renewed in me a commitment to pray more faithfully for each of my children. I was inspired by this prayer from the book,

Heavenly Father, I know the time You’ve given me on this earth is precious. Help me to find more ways to be involved in my child’s life if I am not involved enough. Am I hovering over my child too much? Forgive me, Lord, and teach me how to help my child become more independent. I want the things my child loves to be important to me….”

Practical help, inspirational encouragement, Biblical hope…more of what every mother needs to raise up a godly generation of world changers!! Thank you Kate Battistelli!

I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.