Tags

, , , , ,

Rosie and Scamper by Vicki Watson is the first children’s book I have had the privilege of reviewing.

Horses were a huge part of my childhood and, in my opinion, you can never have enough horse stories to read so I was happy to learn about a new series of horse books.

Rosie is an eight year old who dreams of riding Jet and winning ribbons with him at horse shows but life doesn’t turn out like her dreams. As Rosie gets to know Carrie (a next door neighbor) she learns that others have struggles and that God is still in control.


Rosie and Scamper is the first book in a four book series.

I enjoyed the book although I would have enjoyed more descriptive language and a bit more realistic dialogue. My ten year old daughter also read the book. She said, “I enjoyed it but I wanted to know more than what she wrote. I wanted more details.”

If you are looking for a book that sensitively handles death (of a horse) and difficulties (in the life of a child) while pointing the reader to God, you will enjoy this book.

Readers will love the fun website for Sonrise Stables found at http://www.sonrisestables.com where they can find really wonderful jewelry for horse lovers!

Author Vicki Watson is a homeschooling mother who has loved horses since her girlhood.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.