Tags

, ,

I choose books to review very cautiously because there are good books and there are the books that I refer to as “marshmallows for the brain” (sweet and tasty but, ultimately, bad for your health). I do not want to recommend a book that would be a stumbling block to readers and most Christian romances fall into that category.

Romances can be inspirational but, unfortunately, they often inspire their readers to be discontent. Discontentment is an area in which women seem to naturally struggle.

Carrie Daws wanted to write a Christian romance that she would feel good about allowing her own daughter to read. She accomplished her goal and gave the reader a well-written book.
The remarkable thing about this book is Mrs. Daws avoids the fleshy focus of many romances without being preachy.

Amber is a homeless girl on the move (the reader eventually discovers why). When Amber finds herself in a small town on a winter night, she asks for work and is invited home by a kind middle aged Christian man who hires her just so he and his wife can minister to her. Remember that discontentment that many romances feed in their readers? Well, Carrie, this middle aged couple is so warm, welcoming and kind that I found myself wanting someone like them in my life!

Besides a high standard, Carrie is also a good writer. Her story development is solid, the characters are fairly true to form (most romance writers feminize the men) and the overall story line is interesting. As a matter of fact, it wasn’t until I finished the book that I realized the two primary characters (Amber and Peter) had never had any more contact than the Peter reaching out and sympathetically touching Amber’s hands or wiping a tear away. Mrs. Daws does an awesome job of showing Christ’s love for Amber through the character of Peter.

I also realized (after finishing the book) that the physical description of the two characters was very lightly addressed. There were no lengthy descriptions of the mans masculine jawline or the pouty lip of the woman that often lurk in Christian romances. Yet readers know that Peter is very masculine by his decisiveness and his prayerful pursuit of Amber.

I also love the fact that there is an unfinished house in the story that Peter is inspired to complete in a way that pleases Amber (a beautiful picture of our bridegroom, Christ, and the mansion he is lovingly preparing for us).

For a first book, I feel that the author hit the ball out of the park with a story of redemptive love and the power of forgiveness. It’s also wonderful to note that this book is the first of what will be a series.

The author has also prepared a downloadable discussion sheet along with a free seven day devotional which makes it a wonderful book for book groups!

I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The Christian Woman Affiliate Review Crew.

I recommend this book and am delighted that author Carrie Daws kindly sent me an additional autographed copy to give away to Generational Womanhood readers!

Please leave a comment and share what is your greatest area of discontentment in your life? How has God helped you with that area? I will draw a winner on September 1st so be sure to leave your contact info!