Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

_225_350_Book.719.cover

Prayer is a discipline and can be hard work so that’s why I chose this compilation of prayers from Thomas Nelson publishers to review this month.

Yours Is the Day, Lord, Yours Is the Night
provides the reader structure and help for prayer times with a morning and evening prayer for each day of the year. The prayers are selected to reflect the seasons and the liturgical calendar.

I have found that during times of great struggle and worry that it is most helpful to have written prayers to read and to pray. These prayers help me to calm my mind and focus my heart and then I can go on to pray my own thoughts to God.

This book of prayers was collected from Protestant, Catholic and Eastern Orthodox sources; including prayers from each century and every continent! Some are not particularly helpful but are, perhaps, entertaining such as this traditional Scottish prayer (that my father actually learned as a child),

“From ghoulies and ghosties
and long-legged beasties,
and things that go bump in the night,
Good Lord, deliver us!”
_225_350_Book.719.cover

Other prayers I found rich in meaning and scripturally robust such as this one from Edward Bouverie Pusey (1800-1882);

O Lord Jesus Christ,
who when on earth wast ever occupied about Thy Father’s business:
grant that I may not grow weary in well-doing.
Give me grace to do all in Thy name;
be Thou the beginning and the end of all;
the pattern whom I follow,
the Redeemer in whom I trust,
the Master whom I serve,
the Friend to whom I look for sympathy.
May I never shrink from my duty through any fear of man;
make me faithful unto death;
and bring me at last into Thy eternal Presence,
where with the Father and the Holy Ghost,
Thou livest and reignest for ever.
Amen

Editors Jeanie and David Gushee have done a fine job in compiling this collection of prayers and reading through them reminded me that God has been working throughout the dawn of time and every tribe and tongue and nation to redeem mankind through Jesus Christ.

This book would make a delightful gift at Christmas time! It can be found through major retailers everywhere!

I received a free copy of this book for review purposes from BookSneeze.