Tags

,

images baby feetIt’s something we are called to do, reminded to do. Look back.

Thus says the LORD, “Stand by the ways and see and ask for the ancient paths, Where the good way is, and walk in it; And you will find rest for your souls.” Jeremiah 6:16

Christians are told to search for the good, wise ways. This means we have to be a bit introspective and thoughtful even if our personality is not naturally inclined toward reflection. This time of year is a good time to pause and think.

Life is a series of doings and we can get so caught up in the “to do” that we forget the why.

Why am I here? What is my purpose in life?

Those questions caused my stomach to knot up in deep pain when I was a seventeen year old seeker. I asked myself Why oh why am I here?

My pain was great and loneliness deep until…

a friend in my little Southern New Mexico dorm room opened up the Book of Books to me and read these words from Matthew;

Jesus said,”Come to Me all who are weary and heavy-laden and I will give you rest.”

Oh, how I needed His rest!

“Take My yoke upon You and learn from Me and you will find rest for your souls.”

Really, Jesus, do I have to be yoked to you? Go your way and not mine?

I searched for the ancient ways; the good ways and found them by kneeling and asking the Son of God to forgive, cleanse and restore. I had found my why.

Life since then seems to be one long battle to remember the “why.”

This turn of the year is a good time to look back and remember. Remember what He has done.

When you look back over the past year, can you find the evidence that God was there?images footprints
What did God do in your life this year? What lessons did you learn? Important sermons that you heard?

Whom did you meet and what difference did they make in your life?

What have you struggled with this year? Do you need to confess and repent and seek the restoration of your Lord? Is there someone whom you have distanced yourself from that you need to write or call and ask forgiveness?

Finally, who can you thank? Who can you encourage? Who can you bless?

Repentance, confession and thankfulness can be far more motivating than setting goals. God is glorified through us when we consider our steps and ask Him for His help to go forward into a New Year…into an eternity with Him.