Tags

, , , , , ,

3.png God's runaway

I am not artsy. When I am asked to describe a color I can’t, because my brain doesn’t work that way.

But, as the mother of eight children, I’ve noticed something. Every. single. child. thinks. that. he. is. a. great. artist! And, it makes me sad when my children reach the age where reality sets in because no one ever taught him or her the basics!

See the Light helps non-artsy parents overcome that problem. I love the fact that the lessons are based on Bible stories but, more than that, I love the fact that I want to do those lessons even though they are geared toward children.

How’s this for a really creative by-line? See the Light; Drawing Children to Him.

Here is what See the Light says about themselves on their website;

“With a love for the Lord Jesus Christ, a heart for children, and a passion for ministry, Dave and Pat Holt bring you the SEE THE LIGHT team:
ARTISTS with specialties that include teaching a large variety of techniques, art history, chalk artistry, performance art, gospel chalk art (with black light), crafts, creative lettering, and more;
MUSICIANS whose talents include songwriting, musical performance, arranging, and producing. The SEE THE LIGHT team is dedicated to bringing scripture and biblical principles to viewers in a fresh, engaging way. . . and promising to teach some exciting art skills.”

The DVD I reviewed was based on the story of Jonah. It had 268 minutes of lessons included. Several different instructors showed different approaches to drawing the story of Jonah.

The first instructor showed a simple way to draw several big fish. Choosing the word “obey” as the theme of Jonah (because he struggled to obey God), the instructor incorporated the word “obey” in the mist that blew up from the whales blowhole, in the waves and in the whales teeth. Talk about simple but creative!

I also enjoyed the technique of using chalk pastels combined with a black light. The lessons look very creative and interesting on their own but turn on a black light and the whole picture is amazingly illuminated and beautiful! A black light costs only ten dollars!

The only drawback to the DVD that I found was that the first lesson was definitely geared toward younger children (ages 6-8) while the second lesson was for a much older or patient child. The instructors had different approaches in their teaching style as well. This needs to be clarified for the student.

I showed the DVD to my 11 and 7 year olds. The 11 year old has taken an art class for a semester and approached the DVD with a know-it-all air. She sat down next to me because I required her to but I noticed that she was quickly drawn in by the instructor. The idea of using a black light fascinated her and, at the end of the lesson, (when she saw the effect of the black light on the chalk drawing) she got very excited and asked if we could get a black light so she could try it!

Kudos to you See the Light!

The 7 year old just stared at the DVD with total fascination and then, immediately began looking for the chalk pastels in our cupboard.

Here is more information about See the Light.