Tags

, , , ,

DSCF0655

Who are you? You are a beloved creation of God who loved you while you were still in your mother’s womb. You are DSCF0813accepted by Him simply because of who He is; a loving, sacrificial God who wants you to know that He sent His son to pay the price for Your sins. You are loved. You are accepted. You have worth.

Repeat that truth to yourself throughout the day!

I confess that I miss those days of having a new baby when I could let go of many commitments because I had the ultimate excuse; a tiny little life to nurse and care for around the clock!

Still having trouble letting go of busy? Here are some more reasons why it’s important to fill your day with extra breathing room.

First, you and I need time to think. If we’re feeling sad and antsy and anxious and hurried, it is time to say, “No….I can’t do that today, Auntie Jill says it’s bad for my health” or, “Oh, I’m sorry, I’m suffering from MDAD (Modern Day Anxiety Disease).DSCF0622

Did you play with dolls when you were little? I did. I was a dolly-playing kind of girl, much to the consternation of my feministic mother and my very feministic older sister.

Part of the joy of playing dolls was feeling like I had all the time in the world to fold the little clothes and straighten the kitchen set and make sure the baby was well-wrapped. There wasn’t any pressure!DSCF0754
I just enjoyed the process of being a mommy. Sure, I didn’t have to recover from childbirth or suffer from sleep deprivation or worry about my milk supply but I did have to fold the baby clothes and check the baby!

Every once in a while, I get a long period of time to deep clean an area of my house or carefully sort through paperwork. I put on music and enjoy the process! Part of the pleasure is knowing that I’ve got the time! I feel a little bit like that little girl lost in the little tasks of make-believe.

Feminism has stolen the simple pleasures of mothering and marriage. Feminism teaches that the only thing that is really valuable is the end product and a woman who has no “proof” of her productivity has no value.
DSCF0986

I’m here to say, that’s a lie.

There is great profit in taking pleasure in the simple tasks of life, in recognizing the value of simply “being there” in your home; watching, listening, teaching, encouraging, enjoying… because life is, after all, made up of moments!

Child-rearing is one of those areas of life which has no end “product” for the world to see…at least not for a very long time. A mother who has gotten to the bottom of a lie, guarded her children from exposure to violent videos, talked with her children about the price of groceries, and clapped for her children as they called out to her at the playground has accomplished vital and valuable work; the work of loving her children by being there.
DSCF0904
I can’t count how many times I’ve heard women say, “Well, I didn’t really do anything today.”

Really? Nothing?

Open your eyes, precious mama!! Savor the moments. They are real life.

Pictures by Abby Sue Farris (age 11) and Janie Grant