Tags

, ,

  • the happiest life

I wanted to review this book for one simple reason; I want a happy life.
But first, who is Hugh Hewitt (I wanted to know)?
Turns out he’s an attorney, a Professor of Law at Chapman University, an author and the host of the nationally syndicated radio show The Hugh Hewitt Show. Apparently, I have been out of the loop and haven’t heard of him.
I do sit up and listen when successful people have something to say about true happiness. I am assuming that these folks have tried to look beyond outward success (beyond material things) and find satisfaction and joy in intangibles, so I was interested in what Mr. Hewitt had to say.
Hugh Hewitt’s The Happiest Life reminds us what is most important and (surprise), it’s not money or possessions. Hewitt focuses on seven “gifts” and spends a chapter on each one. Most of these, you and I have heard before; encouragement, friendship, kindness etc. Several of them were a bit too generic for me (enthusiasm and graciousness, for example).

Along with the seven gifts are the seven “givers” (spouses, parents, teachers, and others). These relationships are those in which we, also, have the opportunity to become givers.
Again, nothing terribly new here except a reminder that, perhaps, the greatest gift you can give your loved ones is your time. It’s also a great reminder that climbing the ladder of success may result in great disappointment if we don’t cultivate these “gifts.”
Hewitt then moves on to the Greatest Giver–God. He speaks generically of God as a God of peace and goodwill. Hewitt defines himself as a “layer-cake Christian;” an “Evangelical Roman Catholic Presbyterian.” Hmmm.

Perhaps his approach to Christianity is the same approach he takes to writing a book; in an effort to be all-“inclusive” and positive, he writes an easy-to-read book that placates the reader but leaves them wishing for something substantial.
Ultimately, I think this book misses the mark.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.