Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t remember if I first believed on a Friday. It could have been a Monday or a Saturday but that day was a good day, a miraculous day for me.

It was the day that despair (disguised as cool-hippie-girl) met her Savior and was cleansed, redeemed and set free.

I’ve never forgotten that day. On that day, I stuffed a year’s supply of birth control pills into my college dorm dumpster because I wanted God to know that I was turning His way and leaving mine behind.

His way was hard because it was so very different.

Sometimes I walked in no joy and just plain old obedience.

I was determined to follow Christ because that peace He gave me when I confessed my sins and found His forgiveness?

There’s nothing like it. Nothing in the whole world.

It’s worth having.

And that’s why the Friday before Easter is called Good Friday. Because this day commemorates the day when our sins were nailed to the cross and He overcame death on our behalf.

It’s not just Good Friday. It’s the best Friday...ever.

On this day Christians everywhere remember the suffering and death on the cross of the Lord, Jesus Christ.

It was on the cross that Jesus, the lamb of God, took away the sins of the world.

The biblical account of Jesus’ death on the cross, or crucifixion, his burial and his resurrection can be found in the following passages of Scripture: Matthew 27:27-28:8; Mark 15:16-16:19; Luke 23:26-24:35; and John 19:16-20:30.

We have accounts of the deification of men in pagan mythology. But I do not remember any account of a god becoming a man, to help man. Whoever heard of Jupiter or Mars or Minerva coming down and attempting to bear the burdens of men? The gods were willing enough to receive the gifts of men, but Christianity is unique in the fact that our God became a man with human infirmity and emptied Himself of the glory of heaven, in order that He might take upon Himself the sins, diseases and weakness of our humanity.~ A.C. Dixon

Jesus, I love you.